Exploring Newton's "G" in Relativity

• Thread starter Hebob80
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Relativity
In summary, Newton's theory of gravity is still used in modern physics, but it is an approximation to the more accurate Einstein Field Equations. The equations that use G are approximations, but they are all correct in the sense that they use the same physical constant, G, no matter what the equation is.
Hebob80
The Big "G"

I've been studying relativity for a bit over 2 years now, in this time I've come across Newton's G in various equations. For example: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gravitational_time_dilation#Outside_a_non-rotating_sphere

to = tf sqrt(1 - 2GM/rc2)

It was my understanding that Einstein disproved Newton's concept of gravity, so I'm really wondering - what am I not understanding that is making it okay for us to use Newton's G?

As far as I know, G was derived by:

F= G ( m1 m2 / r2)
or
G = Fr2 / m1 m2

Which, I thought was an inaccurate statement...

Someone help

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi Hebob80, welcome to PF!

Newton's theory of gravity is known to work very well in many situations. One of the prerequisites of any new theory is that it must reduce to the old theory in all situations where the old theory is know to work. This means that GR must reduce to Newtonian gravity in the classical limit. So it is not surprising to see G in the equations of GR.

My 8th grade algebra teacher told me that pi was 7/22, and I don't mean to be rude, but by your argument, that works very well in many situations as well; however, it does nothing towards proving it is a valid variable to use. If you were to say that the equations that use G were only approximations, I would find that acceptable, is this the case?

Hebob80 said: