2 Masses with One Spring

• Thread starter WorkIsNotAVec
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Spring
In summary, the problem is to find the period of oscillation for a system consisting of two masses attached by an ideal spring with a spring constant of 0.5 N/m. The masses are 100 g and 200 g, and the system is on a frictionless horizontal surface. The equations used are F=-kx, x(t)=Acos(wt - \phi), and Fnet=ma. After initial compression/stretch, each spring is displaced by x and the total displacement is 2x. The equation of motion for each mass is x1(t) = xcos(w1t) and x2(t) = xcos(w2t). The individual angular frequencies w1 and w2 can be found,
WorkIsNotAVec

Homework Statement

This is my first time using this forum so I'll try to start this off right.
The question is this : Two masses, one 100 g and the other 200 g are attached via an ideal spring with spring constant k = 0.5 N/m. The system is slid along a frictionless horizontal surface, find the period of oscillation.

Homework Equations

F=-kx
x(t)=Acos(wt - [tex]\phi[/tex])
Fnet=ma
Not sure what else.

The Attempt at a Solution

I know that after the initial compression/stretch each spring will be displaced by x, and the total displacement will have been 2x. So the equation of motions for the two masses would be:
x1(t) = xcos(w1t)
x2(t) = xcos(w2t)
And I can find the individual angular frequencies w1 and w2, but I don't understand how to go on from here to find the frequency of it as a whole.

Physics news on Phys.org
I was thinking that I could find the period of each mass and then add them together, but then I would have to account for the phase difference between the two masses. Any help is greatly appreciated!

1. How does the spring behave when two masses are attached to it?