1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Acceleration Question

1. Oct 25, 2003 #1
    I'm a physics newbie wondering if I've done this question right. I'll type the question as it is in my assignment along with my interpretation of it.

A hockey player is standing on his skates on a frozen pond when an opposing player skates by with the puck, moving with a constant speed of 12m/s. After 3s, the first player makes up his mind to chase his opponent and starts accelerating uniformly at 4m/s^2. How long does it take him to catch the opponent?

First, I found that after 3 seconds the opposing player (P1) will be 36m away from P2. So I calculated how long it would take P2 to travel 36m at 4m/s^2. But in that length of time P1 would have traveled an additional x number of metres. So I calculated how long it would take P2 to travel those additional x number of meters. I kept doing this until they were (roughly) at the same point.
    Strangely, the speed of P2 ended up being some unrealistic amount akin to a speeding car.

Did I do this question correctly?
    Thanks to any who try and help. I really appreciate it. :)
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 25, 2003 #2
    Theoretically that might work, but practically that would be a nightmare. For your problem, we are interested in when the two players are essentially occupying the same space. You started out correctly... when the second player starts after the first player, they are 36 meters apart. Now lets look at one of the kinematic equations for constant acceleration:

x = xi + Vit + (1/2)at2

x is the position of the hockey player relative to an origin point we select. For this case, it would be best to call the position of the second hockey player at t=0 the origin, or x=0.