Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Air Jet

1. Jan 13, 2009 #1
    Hi,

I have been carrying out a lab experiment where I am studying the force on a plate from an air jet. I need to come up with a theoretical derivation of an equation for the force on the plate and I was wondering if anyone had any ideas about how to go about this?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2009 #2

stewartcs

Science Advisor

Use the momentum equation to find the reaction force of the jet impinging on the flat plate.

CS

4. Jan 13, 2009 #3
    Thanks for replying, the momentum equation that I have is F=m(dot)(v2-v1), however I only have a value for the velocity leaveing the nozzle (v1). Given also is an equation that says the force of the jet on the plate is = m(dot)v(nozzle). Is this correct as what has confused me is that the plate height varies so this would make the force less the further away it got from the jet.

Thanks

5. Jan 14, 2009 #4

stewartcs

Science Advisor

Yes that is the correct equation. Perhaps a little rearrangement would help:

[tex] F = \rho Q_0 V_0 \sin{\theta}[/tex]

and since [itex]Q = VA [/itex] we can substitue and get:

[tex] F = \rho A V_0^2 \sin{\theta}[/tex]

where,

A is the area of the jet striking the plate
    V_0 is the initial velocity of the fluid
    [itex] \rho[/itex] is the fluid density
    [itex] \theta[/itex] is the angle the plate makes with the horizontal

If perpendicular it will be [itex] \sin{\theta} = 1 [/itex] and will reduce further to:

[tex] F = \rho A V_0^2[/tex], which is the equation you were given for the lab.

Hope this helps.

CS

6. Jan 27, 2009 #5
    U can also calculate the forcce by using,

F=PxA

F=force applied
    P=Pressure of the air jet
    A=Area of the tube

7. Jan 11, 2011 #6