Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Antimatter - could it ever be utilized as poss. energy source?

1. Aug 20, 2004 #1

Gold Member

I'm guessing that the amount of energy taken to generate an antimatter particle would always be more than what you would get back by colliding the antimatter generated with a matter particle.

But if we ever find a source of antimatter in the universe, then do you suppose that in the far future, we could utilize antimatter for power?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 20, 2004 #2
    Im not an expert and dont quote me, but I think that the law of conservation of energy plays a part. I think the energy neede to convert a particle into a particle-antiparticle pair is the same as when the pair reunite to form energy.
    To answer your second question, the problem with antiparticles is containig them, it is soo hard to contain them, you must use strong magnetic fields. To utalize it for use, I'd say it would take us another meillenium to get there.
  4. Aug 20, 2004 #3

Gold Member

Ah, ok. I forgot about the conservation of energy! Thanks for the response! :)
  5. Aug 20, 2004 #4
    Maybe for spacecrafts but thats about it. You need to create the actual anti-matter first which raises the question, where do you get the energy to create the anti-matter?
  6. Aug 20, 2004 #5

Gold Member

7. Aug 20, 2004 #6
    hmm... this sounds rather like somerthing from dan brown's Angels and Demons
  8. Aug 20, 2004 #7
    It will cost a lot of money to produce antimatter... so if there is a new and more efficient way of producing - then maybe we can use it for spacecrafts.
  9. Aug 21, 2004 #8
    Anti matter is already created in small quantities in large particle accelerators today, albeit very small quantities. Anti matter would most likely not be used for power generation, but power storage, as its energy density is about as high as possible.