Astrophysics Careers: Job Opportunities & Advice

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges of finding employment in the field of astrophysics after obtaining a degree. It is advised to also develop practical skills in other fields, such as programming and data analysis, to increase job opportunities. The competition for astrophysics positions is high, and it is mentioned that it may be difficult to find a job in this field. However, there are tangential fields and industries that may offer opportunities for those with an astrophysics background. It is also mentioned that a PhD in astrophysics may not necessarily lead to a career in this field, but it can still be a valuable experience. The conversation also mentions personal preferences and the importance of being open-minded and prepared for different career paths.
Julia00
I am currently studying Physics, Chemistry, Maths and further maths at A level, and I am interested in going to university and studying astrophysics. However I was wondering how can you get a job in this field of science after you get your astrophysics degree? I have done some research and discovered that there are only a few jobs available so getting a positions must be very competitive. If anyone could offer any advice I would be very grateful.
Thanks Julia

Physics news on Phys.org
If you decide to study astrophysics, you should be fully prepared both emotionally and practically for the strong likelihood that you will not end up in an astrophysics research position. For the practical aspect, you should develop skills that are useful in other kinds of jobs (e.g. programming and data analysis). Keep your eyes open for fields and positions that use those skills, and learn something about them along with astrophysics. Then you will be prepared whichever way things turn out.