1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Available materials for Faraday rotation experiment

1. Jul 20, 2016 #1
    I am a high school student experimenting with the Verdet constant of materials and how it affects the polarization of light in magneto-rotation. I have trouble acquiring the proper materials for this experiment. Here is what I have so far:

-AC/DC Power Supply
    -Gaussmeter
    -Optical laser under 5MW
    -Neodymium Magnets
    -Solenoid
    -Various samples that light can pass through

I need polarisers and light analyzers to complete the apparatus. I also think the neodymium magnets will be too weak to create a magnetic field surrounding my sample. I would appreciate any advice on sustainable polarizers, analysers, and magnets that are relatively cheap (under $60).

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2016 #2

Tom.G

Science Advisor

An easy source for polarizer/analyzer is a pair of polarized sunglasses, Polaroid is one widely available brand. In the U.S., drug stores often carry them. It is easiest to remove the lenses from the ones than clip onto eyeglasses, and they are often the cheapest but a little harder to find. Watch out for very cheap ones, they sometimes are not polarized, just tinted. To check them, grab two pair and check that transmission drops dramatically when rotated with respect to each other.

Also, not necessarily a problem, but be aware that some lasers are polarized.

As to magnet strength, you have a Gaussmeter so you can measure them. An online search for 'Verdet constant' should reveal the sensitivity of various materials.