Background study of molecular/atomic bonds needs clarification

In summary, the conversation discusses the formation of chemical bonds between elements, including covalent, ionic, and polar-covalent bonds. The type of bond formed depends on the electronegativities of the atoms involved. The conversation also touches on intermolecular forces and their role in determining the structure of matter. The final question asks about the forces depicted in a graph, with a mention of the Pauli exclusion principle. Overall, the main topic of discussion is the nature of chemical bonds and intermolecular forces.
MrB3nn
Hello,
This is not a 'homework problem' but I think it fitted more correctly in this thread than other more advanced ones.
Basically, I am a first year undergraduate who did not study Chemistry at A-level. I am quite a serious student and I am trying to increase my background understanding of a few aspects of inter-atomic and molecular bonds. I have tried to accumulate a kind of broad understanding of the goings on on a molecular within matter. I find textbooks either don't answer the questions I have or they are far too advanced to even comprehend at my level. I really need someone to read my idea of what is happening then to tell me if it's correct or not. I also have some questions and would appreciate it if anyone could answer them.

So far, as I understand it:

There are different types of processes responsible for the forming of chemical bonds between elements.
Some of the most important are: Covalent, Ionic and Polar-Covalent.

I understand the type of bond formed between two atoms depends a lot on the electronegativities of the two atoms. Quantitively, if the difference in electronegativity on the Pauling scale is >2.0 we have a largely ionic bond. Between 0.9 and 2.0 we have polar-covalent and less than 0.9 is covalent.

I understand ionic bonds are non-saturated and can therefore exist between more than one pair of atoms, whereas covalent are saturated.