1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

BC Calculus help

1. Jul 1, 2005 #1
    Sorry I'm not very good at using latex, but here's my shot.

1. Let f(x) = sqrt (1+2x) - 1 - sqrt (x). Find some a where a is positive, such that lim of [tex]\frac{f(x)}{x^a}[/tex] as x approaches 0 from the right is finite and non zero.

I know the problem requires the use of L'Hopital's rule, but I seem to be making circles. When I differentiate, I keep getting indeterminite forms and can't get the limit to be finite

2. A picture 1.4 meters high stands on a wall so that its lower edge is 1.8 meters above the eye of an observer. What is the most favorable distance from the wall for this observer too stand - that is, to maximize his or her angle of vision.

I started by doing tan(theta) = [tex]\frac{1.4+1.8}{x}[/tex] where x is the distance from the wall. To maximize the angle, I took the arctan of each side and differentiated, looking for when it will equal 0, but the derivative is never 0.

3. Evaluate for any fixed number k>0:

lim [tex]\frac{(1^k + 2^k + ... n^k)}{n^(k+1)}[/tex] as n approaches infinity
    [Edit: The denominator should be n raised to the quantity of (k+1)]

The numerator looks like a Riemann sum, but I have no idea how to begin solving it.

Thanks for any help
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 1, 2005 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

For number 1, there is an obvious choice of a to try that might work even without L'Hospital's rule.

For number 2, I think you need to try law of cosines applied to the triangle from the eye to the bottom and top edges of the picture.