1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Blocks colliding momentum problem

1. Sep 18, 2011 #1
    I'm studying for my first exam in Intro to Modern Physics. The question, along with the solution, is attached. Unfortunately I don't understand the solution.

The solution changes to the rest frame of M, which I get. Then, it shows what happens after the collision and it seems like it breaks conservation of momentum (they have Pbefore = -Pafter).

Secondly, when the solution switches back to the original frame, how does the smaller mass suddenly gain velocity? Shouldn't the velocity go down, not up?

Thanks

Attached Files:

• hw4.png
      hw4.png
      File size:
      95.9 KB
      Views:
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2011 #2
    I think you ought to remain in the laboratory reference frame and simply solve using the conservation of momentum and Kinetic energy:
    [itex]
    Mv - 2mv = Mu_1 +mu_2[/itex]
    [itex]
    Mv^2+4mv^2 = M{u_1}^2 + m{u_2}^2
    [/itex]

4. Sep 18, 2011 #3
    Seems kind of messy to solve. Does M >> m tell us anything useful?

5. Sep 19, 2011 #4
    Something very useful indeed, there will be plenty of reductions there...
    Give it a try.
    remember that (m/M)^2 is therefore zero, due to this condition, and M - m ~ M..., as is M + m ~ M...
    Daniel

6. Sep 20, 2011 #5

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

By coincidence, I have been looking at this very problem. I believed I had it solved, but my working doesn't agree with any of the options in your test. :yuck:

See my answer in the second page of this thread: https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=529469&page=2" where I have cast the problem as bouncing a ball off the front of an oncoming locomotive.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 26, 2017
  7. Sep 20, 2011 #6

gneill