Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculating Fissile Plutonium output to estimate nuclear capability of a country

1. Dec 7, 2007 #1
    Hi all,

I am just a mechanical engineer with no good background of nuclear physics. As I am doing some research on how much each country can posses nuclear bomb. The question is if I know the reactor location (approximate) , type of reactor and its Rated power (MWe) with assumed plant capacity factor of (75% for power mode & 80% for weapon grade mode) how can I calculate Spent (Uranium) Fuel / Yr (Kg) and Fissile Plutonium
    output / Yr (Kg)

thanks,
    Diabolic

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 8, 2007 #2

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

The quantity of Pu produced depends on several factors: thermal power (roughly 3 times the GWe), mass of fuel in the reactor, irradiation time are principal, enrichment (fraction of U-235 and/or other fissile isotope), and the refueling schedule and batch size (number of fresh assemblies or fraction of core introduced during refueling).

The amount of Pu produced in nuclear fuel depends upon the conversion ratio (U-238 to Pu-239), which is a function of the burnup (GWd/tU, or MWd/kgU), and the mass of fuel in which the Pu is being produced.

4. Dec 8, 2007 #3
    In a word, No! There are many, many other factors that determine product production. The Enrichment of the fuel, the flux density, The arrangement of the fuel and target material in the core. The free mean path of the neutrons. Fissile production requires very high flux density. To thermalize neutrons to produce weapons grade product, is not easy. In general, it is difficult to produce usable weapons grade material with a power reactor.
    Any more than that, I would refer you texts on reactor design.

5. Dec 10, 2007 #4
  6. Dec 10, 2007 #5
    Actual Numbers

They could be actual production numbers? Note the wide range of the estimates!