Can a voltmeter read micro-volts?

• Thread starter Mohamed_Wael
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Voltmeter
In summary: But is it a reasonable to suggest spending ~$2500USD on a preamp just to use this sensor?I'm not sure what the OP's budget is, but I don't think it's a reasonable expenditure to buy an amplifier just to use a low-voltage sensor. There are many cheaper options that will work just as well.
Mohamed_Wael
I am a mechanical engineer who is doing an experiment to measure a pressure drop across a microchannel, the sensor is measuring around 30 microvolt/mmHg which is very low value. I would like to know if the voltmeter can read this small value or not and if not what are the alternatives so I can detect such small pressure drops.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Mohamed_Wael said:
the sensor is measuring around 30 microvolt/mmHg which is very low value. I would like to know if the voltmeter can read this small value or not
Analog voltmeters can't read this small value. I don't know about digital voltmeters, but I don't think they can either. You need to add an amplifier to your circuit to amplify the voltages to a measurable scale.

Yes, microvolts can be measured. But you should select your sensor so you don't need to.
Maybe your sensor needs an amplifier, maybe your sensors range is 200bar (so ~5 Volts at FSD), maybe it's broken, find the data sheet to find out.

There are 20,0000 presure sensors sold by Mouser alone, so they come in many many flavours and many are cheap as chips, it's not worth wasting your time with the wrong sensor.

Likes cnh1995
billy_joule said:
Yes, microvolts can be measured. But you should select your sensor so you don't need to.
Maybe your sensor needs an amplifier, maybe your sensors range is 200bar (so ~5 Volts at FSD), maybe it's broken, find the data sheet to find out.