Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can someone help me chose a motor for my hand drill?

1. Dec 29, 2016 #1
    Background:
    (I'm a beginner)
    I plan on using PCV pipe for the main body. The drill's purpose will be to install screws into pre-cut groves (basically a motorized screwdriver). These screws will be only a couple centimeters tall so the motor will only need a moderate amount of torque and rpm. It takes about 3 turns to install these screws but i would like the fit to be tight so maybe a little more than that would be excellent. I would like this drill to be able to unscrew as well .

The problem:
    I need to chose a small motor that has enough power/torque and rpm to screw in the miniature screws (as well as unscrew) without stripping the groves at a fast but controllable speed. The motor needs to be small but effective and precise. I'm just not sure what kind of motor fits these requirements. Please help?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 30, 2016 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Although we have a huge variety of talent and knowledge here at PF and you may well get a good answer from someone, I would think that a hobbyist forum would be a lot better place to ask such a question.

4. Dec 30, 2016 #3

Nidum

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Try looking up the technical details of commercially available powered screwdrivers to get some design ideas .

5. Dec 30, 2016 #4

CWatters

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Most small motors will be way to fast for what you need so some sort of reduction gearbox will be required. This will also increase the torque and that might cause problems. I think you need to look for an adjustable means of limiting the torque and this is a feature of many commercial electric screwdrivers.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 1, 2017
  6. Dec 30, 2016 #5