Choice of computing platform for guidance system

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of attitude estimation and control of a flying or freefalling vehicle. The process involves inputs from accelerometers and gyroscopes, as well as the use of Kalman filtering and a control algorithm to achieve the desired attitude. The speaker also mentions the need to consider the computing platform for this project, with a preference for a powerful platform with wireless programming and debugging capabilities. Suggestions for potential platforms are Gumstix and Raspberry Pi, with a mention of the limitations of using TI DSPs and Code Composer Studio for wireless operations.
eichfeld
I am just starting to learn about attitude estimation and control of a flying(or actually, a freefalling) vehicle. There will be inputs from accelerometers and gyroscopes, Kalman filtering to estimate the correct attitude and control algorithm to achieve the desired attitude.

I am still putting down the first things to paper, but I also need to think what computing platform will I be using when I start realizing the thing. The platform should obviously be powerful enough for all the number-crunching, it should have a community I can ask help from and since the vehicle will be highly mobile(flying!), I would prefer having wireless programming/debugging capabilities.

What would be your recommendations for this kind of platform?

Gumstix seems to be powerful. Is it possible to have a system what is real-time and also have wireless capabilities?

I like TI DSP's and Code Composer Studio and have access to Dev Kits and licensed CCS, but these things are not meant to operate wirelessly.

Engineering news on Phys.org
I would use Raspberry Pi. Lots of hardware, open source software, and a community.

1. What factors should be considered when choosing a computing platform for a guidance system?