1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Conductive ring levitated by electromagnet

1. Nov 18, 2015 #1
    I am an eleventh grade student currently in AP Physics C. My teacher did a demonstration with an electromagnet where he drew AC current from the wall to shoot a conductive ring. I was wondering where i could find the blueprint for such a device, or perhaps receive some guidance on how many coils i need/how much current i need to shoot a ring to a certain height.
    ( )

out of curiosity, is it possible to do the same with dc current. for example, maybe i could use some D cell batteries connected in series, a capacitor, and the device i talked about above for just a magnetic pulse rather than oscillating magnetic flux.
    what about just batteries connected in series?
    (i've already tried that but with not nearly enough coils. since i didnt have any resistors and the wires were relatively thick, I only connected the circuit for a fraction of a second, because i didn't want the circuit to short out)

And some questions that weren't answered in my lessons:
    how does the difference between thick and thin wires affect the device? (i do know that usually as cross sectional area increases resistance decreases)
    i cant think of any more questions atm

If i seem like I'm completely loss or my logic is all muddled up, please don't just point it out, but also try to correct me so that i may learn something.

Cheers from the high school student that feels like he doesn't know enough physics.

reposted from classical physics because after looking at the difference between classical physics and general phyics i thought it might belong here more.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 18, 2015 #2

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member