1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Constructing a function

1. Aug 27, 2009 #1
    THIS IS NOT A HOMEWORK QUESTION, BUT I AM POSTING HERE ANYWAY.

Given the equation

y = sqrt(x)

I'm trying to construct a function that instead of being imaginary when x<0, gives a value for y which is real and negative but whose magnitude is still sqrt(x).

I've been going around in circles trying to model the function. I know there has to be a simple answer, but I'm not finding it.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 27, 2009 #2

rock.freak667

Homework Helper

y2= -x or y=-√-x

but I am not good at modeling functions

4. Aug 27, 2009 #3
    I'd like the function to give positive real values for y when x>0 whose magnitude is sqrt(x).

5. Aug 27, 2009 #4
    You've already well-defined the function (we know its value for each input). If you want to furthermore put it into x and y symbols, simply define it explicitly. Ie.,
    [tex]f(x) = \left\lbrace\begin{array}{ll}\sqrt{x}, & x\geq 0\\ -\sqrt{-x}, & x < 0\end{array}[/tex]
    is a well-defined function.
    If you don't like explicitly branched functions, make use of pre-defined branched functions:
    [tex]
    f(x) = \operatorname{sgn}(x)\sqrt{|x|}
    [/tex]
    is the same function.

6. Aug 27, 2009 #5
    That I know how to do. I'm looking for a continuous function without absolute values and sign functions.

7. Aug 27, 2009 #6

VietDao29

Homework Helper

Don't you see there's an obvious contradiction in your initial post, and last post?

And btw, we here do not solve homework, or whatever problems given to you!! That's your task, not ours!!! We are not paid a single penny for it!!! :grumpy: