Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

DC-AC converters, Solar inverters

1. May 24, 2015 #1
    (I am a big newbie when it comes to electrical circuits)

So I am searching the Internet for how the Solar inverters work. Most schemes that I come across have an H-bridge with some sort of transistors. Now how I understand the transistors are controlled by an oscillator and bridge itself then converts DC current to AC current (though a square wave one).
    Is this correct so far? Also, how do they get a pure sine wave from a square wave? By using inductors?

2. jcsd
  3. May 25, 2015 #2

Hesch

Gold Member

Yes, you are right.

The output from the transistor bridge is a rectangular wave, where the relation between high-voltage-time and low-voltage-time is varied. It is called a pwm-signal ( pulse-width-modulated signal ):

bBNPA.gif

In this way the mean voltage in the output signal can be controlled, and filtering the ouput current through an inductor, it will become sinusoidal. If the net-frequency is 50Hz, the rectangular signal could be clocked at say 16kHz.

The net is regarded as a synchronous motor to be driven. The inverter will simply follow the net/motor frequency and will try to accelerate the motor thereby delivering power to the net/motor. This is done by making a phaseshift ( 90 degrees which yields max torque as for the motor ) and the relation between active/reactive power can be controlled by the amplitude of the output voltage. If a negative phaseshift is made ( -90 degrees ) you will brake the motor/consume power from the net. So the inverter can easy be made an AC-DC converter.

Last edited: May 25, 2015
  4. May 26, 2015 #3