Is the Wigner D matrix definition applicable to spherical harmonic rotations?

In summary, the Wigner D matrix corresponds to the rotation of the spherical harmonics themselves, and the standard definition of the spherical harmonics includes the relation Y_l^(-m)=(-1)^mY_l^m*.
sunjin09

Homework Statement

I'm not sure if this is the appropriate board, but quantum mechanics people surely know about spherical harmonics. I need to implement the Wigner D matrix to do spherical harmonic rotations. I am looking at
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wigner_D-matrix#Wigner_.28small.29_d-matrix
for the definition, since I'm not a quantum mechanics guy, I need to verify whether this definition of the Wigner D matrix correspond to the rotation of the spherical harmonics itself or the coordinate system? In other words, if
[tex]
u(\theta,\phi)=\sum_ma_mY_l^m(\theta,\phi)
[/tex]
then does
[tex]
u(\theta', \phi')=\sum_{m'}b_{m'}Y_l^{m'}(\theta', \phi')
[/tex]
where [itex]b_{m'}=\sum_md^l_{m',m}(\beta)a_m[/itex], correspond to the same function u under the new coordinates rotated around y-axis by β? [itex]d^l_{m',m}(\beta)[/itex] is the small d matrix element.
Further more, I assume the spherical harmonics Ylm is the standard definition where Y_l^(-m)=(-1)^mY_l^m*? Thank you for your patience.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Physics news on Phys.org