1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Deflection of a particle between two plates

1. Jul 22, 2009 #1
    I am studying for a test tomorrow and our prof gave us a practice test and I am confused on how to solve this problem

A charged particle is accelerated through a potential of 15,000 volts, after which it passes between two deflecting plates. What voltage must be applied to these plates to deflect the particle through an angle of 10 degrees?

NOTE the answer is 882 V (IDK how to get that)

Plates are horizontal with length of 3 cm and are .5 cm apart.
    Particle starts at center of the two plates and once it goes between the two plates it is deflected downward 10 degrees

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 22, 2009 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF. You should post some of the relevant equations, and at least think out loud a bit about how to approach this.

Do you know how to convert from eV to Joules? And so then to calculate the velocity of the electron as it enters the region between the plates?

Do you know how to calculate the force on an electron from an external electric field? How to calculate the electric field, given the voltage between two plates and their separation? And do you remember the kinematic equations of motion, given a constant force (acceleration)?

4. Jul 22, 2009 #3
    Im sorry I posted the question b/c i am super confused and dont even know how to start solving it

5. Jul 22, 2009 #4

berkeman

You start solving it by answering the questions I posted. If you don't know the answers to my specific questions, use wikipedia.org or Wolfram Alpha or similar technical search engines (or your textbook) to help you answer them. If you answer my questions, you should be very close to answering this problem.