Designing a Safe Beam Support for an Exhaust Pipe

In summary, a person has recently taken on an engineering job and has been tasked with designing a simple beam support for an exhaust pipe. They have decided to consult Physics Forums for advice and have attached a picture of their design. They are currently focusing on understanding the theory and have not yet calculated any numbers. They need to find the yield stress of the material and compare it to the bending stress caused by the load from the pipe. They also need to calculate the load on each support and model the top beam as a fixed end beam. They are seeking advice on how to design the midspan of the top beam and have been advised to assume a simply-supported beam instead of a fixed-end beam. They also need to draw a free-body diagram and
hughfrancis89
Hi there! I have recently taken on an engineering job and have been tasked with designing a simple beam support for an exhaust pipe.

Because I'm still studying and I want to make sure I do this properly, I have decided to consult Physics Forums, as reading others posts have helped me so much in the past.

I have attached a picture of the design to this post. Basically I've just got to make sure there is a significant safety factor against yielding with the setup.

GeneratorFrame.jpg

I don't have any numbers to work with currently, I'm just getting the theory down pat first.

I assume I need to find the yield stress of the material, and compare that to the bending stress currently caused by the load from the pipe. Also, how would I calculate the load caused by the pipe on each support? Would it just be the weight of the pipe divided by two (due to the two supports) or would it be more complicated than that, because the supports arent evenly spaced?

Also I assume to model the top beam I would just use a fixed end beam as in FIG 2.

Thanks for the advice, apologies for the simple question!

Hugh

Engineering news on Phys.org