Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Determine extinction coefficients in glass for Fe2+/Fe3+

1. Aug 28, 2013 #1
    Hello everybody,

I want to determine the extinction coefficients of Fe2+ and Fe3+ in glass.
    There are literature data (e.g. Weyl's book "coloured glass"), so I know what kind of curves I should expect. As I am studying a slightly different soda-lime-silicate system, I want to recalculate the curves.

I have glasses with different Fe2+/Fe3+ ratio and total iron concentration [Fe].
    I have measured the absorbance of two glasses and I have solved a simple two equations system starting from Lambert-Beer law: A = Ʃ εCd
    where A is absorption, ε is the extinction coefficient, C is the concentration and d is the thickness of my glass.

Unfortunately, I get negative values in one of the two extinction coefficient curves. Obviously, this doesn't make sense.

Anyone sees what is wrong in my reasoning? I can't figure it out.

Thank you very much in advance,

PS For a close look at the system I have made, see the attachment (.pdf)

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 28, 2013 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Try solving for Fe+3 in terms of Fe+2 and total Fe.
  4. Aug 29, 2013 #3
    Thank you chemisttree for replying.
    However, I don't get what you mean. How can I solve in terms of total Fe?
    In the system I have the concentrations of the two absorbing species:
    Fe3+ (CFe3+) and Fe2+ (CFe2+)

Where should total Fe appear in the equations?
  5. Aug 29, 2013 #4

Staff: Mentor

You said you know total Fe for the glass, so you can write an equation for the mass balance:

Fe2+ + Fe3+ = Ftotal
  6. Aug 29, 2013 #5
    You are right! I understand.
    But even if I substitute CFe3+ with (CFetotal - CFe2+), I don't see how it would solve the problem. At the end it is always the same value.
  7. Aug 29, 2013 #6