Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Divergence- Useful Concept? Why?

1. Feb 15, 2007 #1
    I am studying divergence and curl in my E&M class. I was wondering, why is divergence a useful concept? I mean, for point charges, the divergence is zero everywhere except where the charge is located. Even for charged surfaces,

[tex]\nabla\cdot E = \frac{\rho}{\epsilon}[/tex]

Loooking at this it seems like you would have no divergence except on the suface. How does that help?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 15, 2007 #2
    Together, the divergence and curl of a vector field uniquely describes it. (In mathematics, this is known as Helmholtz's theorem.) As a result, we can express the electric and magnetic fields in terms of their divergences and curls, and this is precisely what Maxwell's equations do.

More practically, given a choice between expressing concepts as integral equations or expressing them as differential equations, it is usually easier to express things as differential equations. This is especially true in cases where problems reduce to one or two dimensions. For example, imagine that you're trying to find the capacitance of a simple parallel plate capacitor. If you were to do this with integrals, you'd have to integrate out to infinity in two dimensions, and it wouldn't be easy. With the differential equation, you can easily see that the electric field between the plates is constant with position, and you can apply the boundary conditions quite rapidly.

4. Feb 15, 2007 #3

Claude Bile

Science Advisor

Having divE = 0 is a very useful constraint when it comes to studying electromagnetic wave propagation (among other things).

Claude.

5. Feb 16, 2007 #4

vanesch

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member