1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Do Grad schools care about your topic of undergrad research

1. Jul 14, 2011 #1
    Hi everyone,

So my question is, do grad schools care about the topic of your research when you're an undergrad? I'm interested in high energy/particle theory but obviously I'm not doing research in that since I'm an undergrad. I did a semester's worth of work with the high energy exp group but I didn't get much out of that. Right now I'm part of an optics REU and I'll be working in an ultracold/BEC lab next semester. I find these subjects interesting and the experiences useful, but I doubt I'll be going into these subjects in grad school. I'm not sure if I want to go into HEP theory specifically, but I'm still leaning towards theory.

On a related note, how do you prepare for HEP theory for grad school? I'm a double major in math and physics and I'm trying to do independent study subjects in advanced topics but are there undergraduates who are doing research in theory? I'd imagine it would be difficult but I suppose you could always do computational work.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2011 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Grad schools are interested in people that can handle the course load and that can come up with original contributions. If you did undergrad research and it went well (and your professor can write positively about you), then you've shown you can handle research. That's the only thing the grad schools care about. I don't think they care if it wasn't in any particular field.

4. Jul 14, 2011 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor