Do i have the ability to see in ultraviolet?

• Thread starter skipper1
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ultraviolet
In summary: Skipper1, I am not an expert on optics, but I am happy to help you understand what might be happening with your glasses and vision. In summary, skipper1 is wondering why their glasses appear to change the color of the light and the brightness in their room when they are under a blacklight. They are also curious about whether or not they may have the ability to see in UV due to their glasses. Some users have suggested that the glasses may be weakly absorbent to near-UV, causing the color and brightness changes. However, more testing would be needed to confirm this.
skipper1
ever since a few years ago when my and my sister both got black lights for our rooms [ i am myopic so i have to wear glasses] i have uv protection [non darkening] idk what it is but when i had my glasses on i saw the light a dark purple and the room would be darker and when i took my glasses off i saw the light bright light blue and purple and the room was easy to see in. anybody know what this means? also i heard girls see more colors so i think I am might be true ^u^

Last edited:
Science news on Phys.org
Skipper, I'm having a little trouble understanding you. Your grammar and sentence structure is poor. Could you please try to use a little more correct English when writing a post?

Anyways, I don't know if you see in UV, but the little I've read on it suggests it is possible. Supposedly people who have had their lens removed from their eye can sometimes see UV as white in color, meaning that it activates all 3 cones in their eye, which could explain you seeing a light blue instead of purple. However, I don't know nearly enough about optics to say for sure, so I wouldn't go around telling people you can see in UV just quite yet. It could be something else entirely that you and I don't know about.