Do not know how to projectile velocity at given time.

In summary, it seems that the projectile velocity was found at 1.2 seconds after being fired and it had a velocity of 30m/s. The max height was also found to be 90.1m.
karateman1
*Do not know how to find projectile velocity at given time!*(Seems easy, please help)

1. Please help I wasn't taught this in class...

I have a diagram of a projectile being fired at 40 Degrees at 30m/s. The path of the projectile is an arc/semi-circle, showing it landed. I used a triangle to split the 30m/s into vertical and horizontal.

2. I also used V2=V1+AT to find hang time of 3.92 seconds and horizontal distance was found to be 90.1 m. How do I find velocity at the given time of 1.2 seconds? And max Height, thank you, I am a noob.

The Attempt at a Solution

Attachments

• SCAN0012.jpg
    SCAN0012.jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 426
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Can anyone please give me a hint, at least, please, i think that i supplied enough info.

One little error you may want to look at is the way you used the formula to find the hangtime. You solved for time when the velocity (on the y-axis) was equal to zero. So that will give you the time it takes for the object to reach the point when it is no longer going upwards, and it is about to start falling. Try to think about just the vertical for a moment, when your starting y and final y are the same number (perferably zero for easier math) then the object has hit the ground.

You did a good job seperating x and y velocities. Now write down what you know. (starting point for both x and y, ending point for y, intial velocity for both x and y). Post whatever you get in a second.

Dougggggg said: