Do profs steal ( scoop ) ideas from their students?

In summary: PhD student. Then if you publish it, it's reasonable to say that you had the idea in your third year and have been developing it since then.In summary, the conversation discusses the concern of students about their professors stealing their ideas. The solution proposed is to keep a lab notebook, discuss concerns with a neutral party, or submit results to a peer-reviewed journal. However, the conversation also highlights the importance of having a good relationship with a supervisor who will mentor and collaborate with the student, eliminating the need for stealing ideas. It is also mentioned that the fear of being scooped is a common problem in the scientific community and that open exchange of ideas is necessary for academic research. Ultimately, the best way to establish
Geezer
Do profs steal ("scoop") ideas from their students?

I'm currently a second-year grad student in physics looking for a PhD advisor. This is my second time shopping around for an advisor. I thought I had had a group at the beginning of the year, but within a few months it became clear that that group wasn't a good fit for me and I left. So here I am. Again.

During the time between leaving the old group and now, I developed a "theory" (for lack of a better word), researched previous work on the topic, worked through quite a bit of math, and wrote it up in LaTeX. I've also had a couple other grad students read my write-up and both have given me good reviews and encouraged me to get profs to read it, so I'm pretty sure my idea doesn't suck. I'm hoping this paper is sufficiently good to attract a good PhD advisor.

That said, I'm worried about getting "scooped."

One of the grad students who read my paper specifically said, "Do not show this to Professor X. He'll steal it." He then went on to tell me the story of how Professor X blatantly stole an idea from a former PhD student.