Career Path Planning: From Civil Engineering to Theoretical Physics

• Thread starter Akira
  • Start date
In summary, the goal is to gain more knowledge and experience in order to move on to a PhD in theoretical physics or computational sciences.
Akira
Hello, first I'd like to say that this is an awesome forum, secondly, I'd like some insight into what I have planned for myself.

I have an undergraduate degree in Civil Engineering, I'm 27, I've been working on different infrastructure projects since graduating and I currently work for the UN developing sustainable infrastructure & shelter solutions in crisis. I'm not sure where I want my career to end up but I aspire to be a scientist, in the theoretical domain perhaps (theoretical physics...) but I have an open mind. I plan to do so according to the following steps, your insight into the bellow is most appreciated:

Step 1: Quit my job in 2 months time
Step 2: Obtain a certificate in Data Science (full-time over 3 months)
Step 3: Obtain a certificate in Theoretical Physics (2-week concentrated program)
Step 4: Start a masters in Computational Mathematics (I've already received my acceptance)
*time elapses*
Step 5: Finish a masters in Computational Mathematics
Step 6: Depending on financial situation, either find job (development, consultancies, research...) or continue on to a PhD either in Theoretical Physics, Computational Sciences (Data, Mathematics...)...

That's the rough outline for now. Does any of the above seem out of place ?

Cheers.

Physics news on Phys.org
Akira said:
Hello, first I'd like to say that this is an awesome forum, secondly, I'd like some insight into what I have planned for myself.