Analysis of Doppler Effect - Seeking Validation/Criticism

In summary: The wave will still display a velocity of 1 second even though it took 10 seconds for the pulses to reach the observer. In summary, the author's main point is that the time we experience a wave is different from the time the wave was emitted.
Physics_start
I have done a little analysis of Doppler Effect and have tried to compile my thought in a document. My background is not physics thus, I am seeking validation/criticism from this community. I would very much appreciate it if you went through my work and pointed out where I might be wrong.

The file can be found here:
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Visual_Doppler_Effect.pdf

Thanks a lot,
Varun

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I took a look at your paper. The first diagram I understood very well having made many such similar spacetime drawings. Your second figure is a nightmare. I don't like spacetime diagrams that combine two coordinate systems and I think there is too much learning curve for most people. Why don't you just make separate diagrams like your first one that covers a single coordinate system?

I didn't read past that second figure but I did scan over the remainder of the document to see if I could figure out where you were going with it. I couldn't. But if your point is that a Doppler analysis is frame independent and shows what each observer actually sees, observes and measures, then it is already a well-known concept and easily demonstrated by showing light or radar signals traveling along diagonals and how they start and end at the same events in all Inertial Reference Frames. Is that your main point?

Who is your target audience--people who already know Special Relativity or people who are first learning?

Physics_start said: