Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

E=MC^2 - Do I have this right?

1. Mar 3, 2005 #1
    OK first let me explain, I have NO formal physics background, not even high school, so please don't flame me if these are dumb questions :smile:

1. What unit of measure is E? If it were distance we could say miles or kilometers.

2. I understand that this formula is for mass at rest. If the mass were moving at 50% light speed, would the answer to E=MC^2 be half of what it would be for the same mass at rest?

3. In nuclear fusion I understand the energy is based on applying this formula to the mass left over when 2 atoms fuse. So looking at a Hydrogen atom, if .00794 atomic mass were converted into energy during the fusion, does that mean the energy gained from this fusion is Energy = .00794 x c^2? I don't know if that is the right number but I needed to apply one for the purpose of this question.

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 3, 2005 #2

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Energy,and it is measured in Joules.

Not exactly in that form.[tex] E=m_{0}c^{2}[/tex] is for mass at rest.Notice the fact that the subscript "0" indicates that thing... :wink:

No.It would be more.It's really easy to compute the energy,once you know the connection between rest mass [itex] m_{0} [/itex],movement mass [itex] m [/itex] (or "M",as you denoted it) and the velocity [itex] v=|\vec{v}| [/itex].Just arithmetics.

EXACTLY...Einstein's formula tells us how much enegy is involved in nuclear reactions...Pay attention with the units,though.That 0.00794 a.m.u.needs to be converted to Kg and then the final result (the energy) would be in Joules,energy's unit.

Daniel.

4. Mar 3, 2005 #3

James R

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member