Effect of doping concentration on the depletion width of p-n junction diodes

In summary: I'm not sure what you mean by "given" electric field. That's not a term I used. But the electric field is determined by the charge in the depletion region, which in turn is determined by the doping levels. So the electric field will vary with doping levels. In fact, you can make a p-n junction work as a variable capacitor (called a Varactor) by changing the bias voltage which changes the depletion region width and hence the capacitance.
ovais
TL;DR Summary
Hi all

I have been reviewing my understanding on the basics of p-n junction diode. Although I have my degree in Mechanical Engineering but I teach introductory Physics covering almost all of pre-university Physics.
My question for now is as follows: Why does a high doping concentration causes a decrease in the thickness of depletion region.

Any help will be highly appreciated!

Thanks a bunch

Regards!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Have you tried reading this?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depletion_region
Note especially the sentence that says:
"When the electric field is sufficiently strong to cease further diffusion of holes and electrons, the depletion region reached the equilibrium." As the doping goes up, how does this affect how far you need to deplete to achieve a certain electric field?

It's a somewhat indirect path to see it. Diffusion has to be slowed so that diffusion and drift current can balance and the junction can be in equilibrium. Slowing diffusion requires a given electric field which requires a given amount of bound charge to be revealed. If the doping is high then charge per cm is high which means one need less cm to get the prescribed amount of charge. Hence less thickness (usually people would say length) of the depletion region.