Can I Use an Electromagnet to Repel Aluminum?

In summary: Sorry, I'm kind of new to this. So, if I wanted to create eddy currents, how would I adjust my model to use an ac power source?For safety's sake I suggest a step-down transformer 115V to maybe 26V (a common type), then you need a resistor in series with your coil to keep the current manageable. Idea is not to overload the transformer.
Yummy Yum

Homework Statement

I have made an electromagnet using the primary core of a microwave oven transformer and a 1.5 D cell battery.

I would like to use the electromagnet to repel an aluminum bar (1 in. dia., 3 in. in length, and 1/4 in. thick; it is shown in the picture)

For some reason, the electromagnet only attracts to ferrous metals, but does not repel non ferrous metals (like the aluminum bar). According to my research, some non ferrous metals will not be repelled by electromagnets, but aluminum should definitely be repelled.

I've attached a picture of my electromagnet

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I've done everything I can think of to try and make the electromagnet repel the aluminum bar. I've tried switching the wires from positive to negative and vise versa, changing the battery size, and changing the thrust direction.

What can I do to make my electromagnet repel this aluminum bar?

Thanks

Attachments

• diagram.png
    diagram.png
    125.7 KB · Views: 1,029
Physics news on Phys.org
Yummy Yum said:

Homework Statement

I have made an electromagnet using the primary core of a microwave oven transformer and a 1.5 D cell battery.

I would like to use the electromagnet to repel an aluminum bar (1 in. dia., 3 in. in length, and 1/4 in. thick; it is shown in the picture)

For some reason, the electromagnet only attracts to ferrous metals, but does not repel non ferrous metals (like the aluminum bar). According to my research, some non ferrous metals will not be repelled by electromagnets, but aluminum should definitely be repelled.