Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Engineers: Is there anything I could self-teach myself? Here is my course outline

1. Jan 27, 2009 #1
    I'm planning on taking a 3-year Advanced Diploma in a college for Electromechanical Engineering Technology. If I do well in this program, then I will transfer to an undergraduate engineering program at some university.

I've been thinking, if the Technology program is equivalent to just some of the basics of engineering, what could I teach myself during the free-time I'll have while in college? It would be so nice if all the self-taught materials will ease off some of the mental stress from the undergraduate program. I know it's going to very stressful based off all the talks going on in the forums, and the fact that I am not gifted in anything. I really have no idea. Do you folks think I should just relax, and just focus on doing well in this course? Maybe spend the time mastering CAD or anything else related to the course, instead of trying to self-teach myself X,Y,Z random topics with no teacher to give me feedback on incorrect understanding?

Here are the topics that I'll be learning:

Term 1

Math (no other details given)
    Concepts and Mechanical Applications - CAD1 Applications
    Applied Mechanics 1
    Health, Work and Safety
    Mechanical Drafting Fundamentals
    Applied Electricity
    Technology: Apocalypse or Eden? (This, I am not sure what it is...)

Term 2
    Applied Math
    Applied Mechanics 2
    Computer Assisted Design for 3D models
    Computer Applied Mechanical (??)
    Industrial Practices
    Engineering Materials and Testing
    Practical Circuits

Term 3
    Differential Calculus
    Mechanicals (??) of Materials
    PLC 1
    Fundamentals of Robotics
    Electro Pneumatics
    Fluid Power
    Cross College General Education

Term 4
    Integral Calculus