1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fellow Master students, what's the topic of your thesis?

1. May 8, 2005 #1
    Greetings,

I'll probably be choosing a topic for my master's thesis next week (maybe something involving the symmetries of the Born-Infeld action...), and I was curious about the work of the current/former master students here.

So, what did you all do for a master's thesis?

2. jcsd
  3. May 8, 2005 #2

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Hmmmmmmmmmmm,Born-Infeld,that stringy stuff...?Sounds deadly interesting.Well,i'm not doing my master yet,and hopefully,same time next year,will do it.I dunno what's gonna be,but i hope it will be something interesting.In our system of higher education,technically,i'm still an undergraduate,at least till September when i hope to pass all my exams and do well with the paper i should be working on.

Daniel.

4. May 8, 2005 #3
    Greets from Gent to Dimitri

I did my master thesis on the dual abelian higgs model (also called dual Landua Ginzberg model) which is a possible way out to explain quarkconfinement. This model is based on the implementation of magnetic monopoles (done by Dirac in 1948 or somewhere in that period) in QCD. It's a theoretical application of quantum field theory. Very interesting !!!

Just so you'd know, i started my phd at IMEC (in Leuven) on high k dielectrics. So , though, i was trained as a theoretical physicist, i am now working in the developments of nanotechnology. Please read my journal if you wanna know more. I must say, i don't really know what your possible topic is about. Can you explain more ? Isn't Prof Sevrin the string theory guy from Leuven ? Here in Gent, it's Prof Verschelde... He also teaches QFT, QM, GR and quantum information technology

regards