Finding the circle of least confusion for a multi-element optical system

In summary: Aberration calculations can also be done in Excel or a similar program, but they are more complex than necessary for this question.
nevhuan
Hi,

I'm a mechanical engineer that's new to optics. I'm trying to determine the best location to place an image sensor for an optical system with multiple lenses and mirrors. In doing so, I've come to the understanding that the best position to put the sensor is at the circle of least confusion. However, I have a few questions:

1. Just to confirm, does this mean that the image is no longer formed at the Gaussian focus due to aberrations in the system?

2. From my understanding, the only way to find the circle of confusion is to find the focal point for a ray that enters the entrance pupil of the system at a height of 0.866d or 0.707d etc. I used the information from this website: "[URL ).[/URL] I notice that this only considers spherical aberration. What about astigmatic aberrations etc?

3. Is there a formula I can use in place of paraxial raytracing and aberration calculations?

Many thanks,
N.

Last edited by a moderator:
Science news on Phys.org
nevhuan said:
Hi,

I'm a mechanical engineer that's new to optics. I'm trying to determine the best location to place an image sensor for an optical system with multiple lenses and mirrors. In doing so, I've come to the understanding that the best position to put the sensor is at the circle of least confusion. However, I have a few questions:

1. Just to confirm, does this mean that the image is no longer formed at the Gaussian focus due to aberrations in the system?