• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Force Diagram Drawings

• Thread starter opus
  • Start date

opus

Gold Member
1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
This is more of a general question, not specific to any problem. I am not too good at drawing force diagrams so I was hoping I could post an image and get some guidance on how to find the forces acting on the object.
In this case, we have a block sliding down a plane of angle θ and a coefficient of kinetic friction μ.
My troubles usually lie with breaking the normal force and gravitation force down to components that are acting along the plane. Here I have made the plane the x axis, with down the plane being positive.

To me it seems as the component of the normal force acting along the plan should be ##mgcos(\theta)##. ##f_k## will I believe be μN (not any particular component of N, but just N). I am unsure of the gravitational component though.

Please see my attached image. Thank you.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Attachments

PeroK

Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Gold Member
2018 Award
A couple of things. First, when you have an incline you need to break each force down into a components normal to and parallel to the incline. The first force you need to do this for is gravity.

The "normal" force is already normal to the plane. So, that doesn't need to be further broken down. ##N_x = 0## by definition. There is no normal force parallel to the incline.

Moreover, the normal force must balance the gravitational normal force: this is because the incline is solid and prevents motion normal to its surface.

Finally, you have friction as a resisting force. As friction acts to resist motion and motion is constrained to be parallel to the incline, then the frictional force must be in that direction. So, again, the friction force doesn't need to be broken down further.

opus

Gold Member