Freezing point depression constant value clarification.

In summary, the student is struggling to understand why the molar mass of an unknown solute is coming out as a negative value in their freezing point depression lab. They are wondering if they should use the absolute value of the negative Kf value in their calculations in order to get a positive molar mass.
LexLuthor
Hi all,

I just need a little clarification here, please. I'm a tutor and I've been helping a student with their freezing point depression lab and the student has to determine the molar mass of an unknown solute from the experimental data provided. I understand the process and have been able to work all of the equations and explain them to the student without any problems except for one. When the final calculation is made to determine the molar mass of the unknown solute it comes out negative because the Kf provided is negative. That makes sense since it's a freezing point depression constant. However, it does not make sense for a molar mass to be negative. My question is when using the Kf value provided should it just be the absolute value of the Kf? That would make sense because then the molar mass would come out positive as we would expect a molar mass value to be. Any clarification that can be provided will be appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

- Lex

Chemistry news on Phys.org
LexLuthor said:
Hi all,