Gap Year Physics Research for an International Student?

In summary, the speaker has been rejected by most of their grad schools due to harsh funding in their field, especially for international students. They ask about the possibility of taking a gap year for research in the U.S, mentioning that Optional Practical Training (OPT) is an option but they do not want to return to China for research. The conversation also raises questions about visa options and the speaker is warned to be careful and not overstay their visa.
ycao
Just got rejected by nearly all of my grad schools (one hasn't reply but the chance is pretty small).
The funding is super harsh this year in my field and even worse for a student from China. Is there any way for an international student to take a gap year for physics research in the U.S? ( My degree is done in the U.S so OPT is an option. Don't want to go back to china for research though.)

Physics news on Phys.org
What are you planning to use for a visa?

Vanadium 50 said:
What are you planning to use for a visa?
There's "Optional Practical Training (OPT) for F-1 Students" available for working in the U.S for 1-3 years.

Getting a visa might take a year, and since you are not an accepted current student in the US, chances might be slim you get one.

ycao said:
Just got rejected by nearly all of my grad schools (one hasn't reply but the chance is pretty small).
The funding is super harsh this year in my field and even worse for a student from China. Is there any way for an international student to take a gap year for physics research in the U.S? ( My degree is done in the U.S so OPT is an option. Don't want to go back to china for research though.)

OK, you need to pay attention to this very carefully, or you will be in a lot of trouble: