Understanding Gaussian Beam Contraction and Divergence in Optics

In summary, the q parameter expression for lasers can be written as 1/q = 1/R - j(λ/πw^2), where w(z) represents the decrease in field amplitude E with distance. This can result in a beam with decreasing diameter, which can be achieved with lenses or through non-linearity in the resonator. In order to represent a beam with non-plane phase front and non-uniform intensity profile, a complex function like psi(x,y,z)exp(-jkz) is often used in optics. This is because complex functions are easier to work with and can accurately represent the desired beam.
zebanaqvi
I am new to lasers. In the expression for q parameter, 1/q = 1/R - j(λ/πw^2)
how did we come to know that w(z) is a measure of decrease in field amplitude E with distance? I can't feel it.

Does the gaussian beam itself contract to the minimum diameter? Shouldn't a lens be required for this? I can understand the divergence of the beam but not the contraction.

Can anybody please make me understand both mathematically and physically?
Regards,
Zeb

Physics news on Phys.org
if you "start" with a collimated beam, then it will always expand in diameter.

but sometimes for a variety of reasons you can get a beam that will have beams with decreasing diameter as it propagates until it forms the beams waist and start to expand again.
Such beams are easily created, like you said, with lenses. fabry-perot laser beams sometimes come with a decreasing diameter probably due to the non linearity of the components in the resonator.

does that answer your question?

Thanks a lot :)
Sorry, what I am about to ask might be lame.