Global diffeomorphism with tangent bundle

• Thread starter Monocles
  • Start date
I am terribly confused on the issue of trivial tangent bundles. I understand intuitively why some tangent bundles are trivial and others are not, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to show it.

Even the most trivial example, show that [tex]T\mathbb{R}^n[/tex] is diffeomorphic to [tex]\mathbb{R}^{2n}[/tex] I am not seeing how to show. Showing that they are locally diffeomorphic is very easy, but every tangent bundle is locally diffeomorphic to the product space of the manifold with the appropriate Euclidean space. I am new to this topic so a geometrical route is preferred. For example, I know that if there exists a vector field with no zero vectors then the tangent bundle is trivial, but I don't know how to show why that is true, so that result does not help me.

Thanks!

Answers and Replies

[tex]
\mathbb{R}^n
[/tex]

has global coordinates. Use them to define natural global coordinates for the tangent bundle. Then notice that they define a global trivialization.

Thanks, that gave me an idea. So, if I want to show that the tangent bundle on [tex]TS^1[/tex] is trivial, should I just find an atlas for the bundle, show that the coordinate charts are locally diffeomorphic to [tex]S^1 \times \mathbb{R}[/tex], and then show that the transition functions between the coordinate charts are smooth? I feel like that must still be missing a step somewhere, since the transition functions are smooth by definition.

To prove that the tangent bundle of an n-dimensional manifold is trivial (and to find its trivialization) it is enough to find n vector fields that are linearly independent at every point. For the circle it is enough to find just one nowhere vanishing vector field (which should be easy).

Once you convince yourself that this is the case - it will help you in the future.

Last edited:
lavinia
Science Advisor
Gold Member