1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Going back to school

1. Jul 6, 2011 #1
    Hi all,

I searched around for a place to ask this, and this forum seemed especially appropriate. It's my first time posting though, so my apologies if this is out of place.

I'm about to turn 27, and five years ago, I earned a BS in math. I was a very good student, both generally and in math, although I did not do much research outside my coursework.

My question is how easy is it to go back to school? I'm feeling an ever-growing itch to get back into mathematics. The problem is I have a comfortably-paying job (related to math education) and my own apartment now. I'm worried about going back to a college lifestyle. However, I truly have no interest in working full-time and just taking classes in the evenings. My itch is to do research and actively pursue a PhD.

Can anyone provide insight here; how easy is it to go back? Will the material come back to me easily? Am I starting to become too old to pursue a degree full-time? Is it okay if my letters of recommendation come from employers, not professors? Is the transition back to a cramped apartment with a roommate manageable, or put simply, will I feel old?

Sorry for all the questions! Any help is appreciated!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 6, 2011 #2

gb7nash

Homework Helper

You're pretty young. The only other complicating factor is if you have a family to support. It can become more and more difficult if you have children. If not, go for it.

4. Jul 6, 2011 #3
    Well, I started my Engineering degree when I was 28, and I had similar concerns to you. I was worried about being around young, smart things and being discounted because I was a "non-traditional" student.