Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Have a (home-built) linux box? Let's discuss! (I want to build my own)

1. Jul 10, 2011 #1
    Hey PF!

Short First Post Intro:
    I've been a long time spectator here. I'm a junior undergrad physics major. PF has been a lot of fun, and tremendous help to me (like last winter I applied to many REU's). So thank you all!

At the REU I'm in now, I'm learning linux. I'd love to hear any of the following:

1. Your current system:
    Specs? Distro? Likes? Dislikes? ​

2. Dream system?
    (Desktop or laptop)? Distro? ​

3. Any advice for someone who's never built their own computer.

So here's me:

1. Macbook pro. Intel core duo 2.8 GHz. 4 GB ram. Dual booting Xubuntu.
    Likes: Love Apple's design/hardware. Xubuntu is fast and lightweight.​
    Dislikes: Apple keyboard/hardware isn't always friendly with linux.​

2. I'm unsure, but something I've built myself so I understand the system (and of course awesome tech specs)...

3. n/a

Basically I would be blowing a good portion of my REU stipend on this...

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 10, 2011 #2

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

My comany uses Mandriva.

The dream systems are quad or oct processor systems. Some folks told me though that some high end 512-core (processor) systems aren't too expensive, so I'll be looking at those, with a large amount of RAM and a fast bus.

4. Jul 11, 2011 #3
    Wow! That's a lot of horsepower. The most I could afford and put to good use would probably be an oct core system or two quad cores.

Eventually I'd like to upgrade to a cluster system, but I'm starting small.

5. Jul 18, 2011 #4

jhae2.718

Gold Member