Does Increasing Fan Speed Reduce CPU Cooling Efficiency?

In summary: This is why increasing the airflow speed on a fan does not always lead to a reduction in the CPU's temperature.In summary, the faster the fan is moving, the less heat it can transfer to the air surrounding it. This is due to the higher volume of air being moved, which reduces the efficiency of the process. However, if you increase the airflow speed enough, the heat transfer to a given volume of air becomes greater, even though the "efficiency" is lower.
DHF
Hello,

I was in a discussion with a Friend regarding cooling systems for computers. We were discussing different air cooling methods for CPUs and he claimed that if the fan was moving at high enough RPMs that the heat transfer from heat sink to the surrounding air would drop in efficiency. He claimed that if the air was moving fast enough that the heat would not have time to transfer to the air moving over it. I have been building computers for many years and I thought I was fairly versed in the design and function of the various systems but I have to admit I have never heard of anything like this. The nearest I could think of is how air heats up when you compress it but we are not talking about air compression in this case, we are talking about standard fans moving air through a grated piece of aluminum.

If anyone has information about this, I would love to hear it. Frankly the concept seems very confusing.

Engineering news on Phys.org
It is true but probably not relevant. The faster the air moves, the less heat a given volume of air can absorb. That's true. But a larger volume of air is being moved, so the overall heat transfer is still higher, even though the "efficiency" is lower.

How much air would we be talking? The typical heat sink is 120mm squared and the typical fan moves anywhere from 40CFM to 90CFM. How many CFM would need to be moved before we saw diminishing returns?