What Are Good Self-Directed Research Topics for a Math Master's Graduate?

In summary, the author is looking for a project that he can work on at a masters level that might lead to original work. He would greatly appreciate any suggestions or direction.
cjohnson7198
I have a master's degree in math, and unable to work on my PhD at this time, I am continuing my studies on my own. I am looking for a project/question that I could work on at a masters level that might lead to original work. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or direction.

Physics news on Phys.org
cjohnson7198 said:
I have a master's degree in math, and unable to work on my PhD at this time, I am continuing my studies on my own. I am looking for a project/question that I could work on at a masters level that might lead to original work. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or direction.

Hey cjohnson7198 and welcome to the forums.

I think your question is a little vague for the reason that you haven't said what your masters is in, what your background is, what your interests/focii for the project is amongst other things.

It would help us if you gave us this information so that more specific suggestions can be made.

This is really not something you should discuss with strangers on the internet. You should contact some professors in whatever field interests you and see what they have to say.

cjohnsion7198,

It isn't clear whether one of your objectives is to do research that would be eventually useful for Phd. work. If that is a goal then you need to investigate what topics are favored by specific professors at whatever universities you aspire to attend. You can be interested in a legitimate and important mathematical question and if you can't find a professor who is also interested and willing to direct your research, you won't get anywhere in a graduate program.

If you just want to do research for your own satisfaction, you should explain your interests.