1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

[Homework Help] Solving Seperable Differential Equations

1. Dec 13, 2009 #1
    Hi, this is my first time posting a homework help problem, so please excuse any mistakes I happen to make :) I actually have two problems I'm stuck on. I have been trying to figure it out, and I'm sure it's a very simple problem, but I guess I'm just not that bright. Anyways, here they are.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

1) Find the particular solution of the differential equation for:

[tex]11x-6y\sqrt{x^2+1}\frac{dy}{dx}=0[/tex]

2) Find all values of k for which the function [tex]y=sin(kt)[/tex] satisfies the differential equation [tex]y''+16y=0[/tex]

2. Relevant equations

For the first question, you're told to use the following initial condition: [tex]y(0)=4[/tex]

3. The attempt at a solution

So for the first question, what I did was bring the x's to the right side and then got stuck at the integral part, which is this:

[tex]\int-6ydy=\int\frac{-11x}{\sqrt{x^2+1}}dx[/tex]

The left hand side is easy to integrate, however how would I go about integrating the right hand side? That's where I'm getting stuck at. A quick rundown would be very appreciated.

As for the second question, what I think I'm supposed to do is take the derivative of [tex]y=sin(kt)[/tex] twice, so that I have the second derivative of y, then substitute it into the original equation. Would that be right?

Thank you very much for any help. Anything would be appreciated :)

Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 13, 2009 #2
    I'd use a u-substitution to integrate the right side.

4. Dec 14, 2009 #3
    as for the second one, if I am understanding you right, that is the right approach

5. Dec 14, 2009 #4