How do we derive the Earth's yearly mean temperature?

billjohnson
I'm new to this.
I would like to know how we derive the earth's yearly mean temp.
I assume there are thermometers all over the world, buy how many and how are they connected, how frequently are temps taken?
Stuff line that

Earth sciences news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF, Bill. :smile:

billjohnson said:
Stuff line that
What's that mean?

Stuff LIKE that

Oh, got it (sort of).

What have you found so far in your Google searching for how global temperatures are measured and communicated? It was probably harder in the pre-Internet days, but there must be some sort of standard temperature monitoring stations all linked up via the Internet now, no?

You have effectively restated my question. Do you know the answer?

Nope, but I know how to use Google. What have you found so far?

(we prefer that folks show their efforts on their questions before we try to help out)... :wink:

Likes Vanadium 50
I'm not in class.

I thought people who frequented forums knew something about the subject and would answer questions.

Guess not.

billjohnson said:
I'm not in class.

I thought people who frequented forums knew something about the subject and would answer questions.

Guess not.
Of course we do and we can. But part of PF's mission is to help folks to learn how to learn. We don't spoon-feed folks here. Please do at least a little Google searching and post what you find. If you have questions about what you have found, we are happy to help you with those questions.

billjohnson said:
I'm not in class.

Guess not.
You have mistaken this for a Q&A forum where you DO just ask and get answered. We are much more interested in helping people learn how to learn. Spoon feeding answers is boring. As @berkeman said, we expect some effort on your part. Again, not a Q&A forum.

If you just want an answer, learn to use Google.

Likes Vanadium 50, russ_watters and berkeman