How to measure the wavelength of a light source

In summary: Measure the spectrum of the light coming out the small hole.The CD should have a line density of p and the spectrum should be a line at a certain wavelength.In summary, Marcus is asking for help understanding how to measure the nm value of a given light source. He is confused about how to do this and is looking for a way to measure the blue/green light in a room. He is also looking for help understanding a technique known as diffraction grating.
marcusmiller
Hey Folks

Quick disclaimer:

I have no background in physics whatsoever but I have found myself trying to solve a problem that is seemingly based in physics so I am trying to learn.

I also have a background in search and search engine optimisation which usually means I am a dab hand at locating information online, but in this case, I seem to be going around in circles which I believe is in part due to me not really knowing how to ask the question.

Background:

After my wife was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis I have spent the last four or so years optimising our diet and lifestyle and whilst we pretty much have stress, diet and exercise dialled in I have now come to improving our sleep. I read a book called Lights Out that goes into detail regarding how our artificial lighting impacts our sleep. To cut a long story short, this all comes down to a hormone called melatonin that is suppressed by daylight and by artificial light so sitting at home, with the lights on, way after dark is bad.

It would seem that melatonin is suppressed by certain colours of light - primarily blue light and that light over 530 nm on the spectrum of light is okay (as it is similar to more natural sources like firelight).

This is a quote from wikipedia:

Production of melatonin by the pineal gland is inhibited by light to the retina and permitted by darkness. Its onset each evening is called the dim-light melatonin onset (DLMO).