How to solve a differential equation using polar coordinate substitution?

In summary, the equation for the path of a light beam would be y' = - y / ( (x^2 + y^2)^1.5 ), where y is the position and velocity of the light beam at any given time.
cefarix
How would I solve the differential equation y' = - y / ( (x^2 + y^2)^1.5 ) ? Btw, its not a homework prob... thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I would try a change of variable into polar coordinates (based on the x²+y² term)

I'm very new to differential equations...could you show me how that would go along? So far I've figured out it would be of the form y' = ( sin theta ) / r^2, but can we replace y' by tan theta?

can we replace y' by tan theta?

It's not quite that simple. First, you need to realize that everything is now a function of θ, so you're going to have to do things like the chain rule.

Notice, for example, that:

[tex]
\frac{dx}{d\theta} = \frac{d}{d\theta} (r \cos \theta)
= -r \sin \theta + \frac{dr}{d\theta} \cos \theta
[/tex]

Can you figure out a way to rewrite dy/dx now?

cefarix said:
Btw, its not a homework prob... thanks

The idea behind moving homework questions to the Homework section is to clear up the Math section for discussion of mathematical topics, without having this kind of step-by-step help discussions hanging around. While this may not be a homework problem that was assigned to you, it looks just like one, and it is handled just like one, so it really should be posted there.

I get [tex]\frac{dy}{dx} = - \frac{r \cos \theta + \frac{dr}{d\theta} \sin \theta}{r \sin \theta + \frac{dr}{d\theta} \cos \theta}[/tex]
Plugging that into [tex]\frac{dy}{dx} = - \frac{\sin \theta}{r^2}[/tex] gets me the equation [tex]\frac{r \cos \theta + \frac{dr}{d\theta} \sin \theta}{r \sin \theta + \frac{dr}{d\theta} \cos \theta} = \frac{\sin \theta}{r^2}[/tex] which I have no idea how to solve :cry:

(1) I think you have sign errors.
(2) You could cross multiply, at least.