Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to understand design layout (VLSI)

1. Sep 14, 2013 #1
    i am a beginner and i am learning cmos design technique .. i found this layout (attached) and i am not sure how to decompose and understand it - like what function is it implementing and how.. if anyone can help -----

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2013 #2

phyzguy

Science Advisor

It's an SR NOR latch - the schematic is shown at this site. Are you familiar with MOS transistors at all? If not, this youtube tutorial should explain the basics. In this layout, the following colors are used:

Red - Poly gate
    Orange - P+ Diffusion
    Green - N+ Diffusion
    Blue - Metal-1
    Filled Aqua squares - contacts that connect the Metal-1 to the poly and diffusion layers.

Try tracing out the layout and matching it to the schematic of the SR latch. If you have more questions, ask!

4. Sep 14, 2013 #3

analogdesign

Science Advisor

Phyzguy is right. This latch would be used, for example, as the sense amp in an SRAM.

Tracing it out is the way to go. Start by following the gates (red lines) and see where they cross diffusions to create transistors. Keeping in mind that two devices often share a diffusion.

Also, the dotted blue line around the top devices is a N-Well. This is a p-substrate process (I know that because the nmos devices on the bottom of the layout are implemented in the substrate and not in a well).

The square near the VDD label is a well contact and the square near the GND label is a substrate contact. These are needed to reduce the resistance between the circuit and the well/substrate to mitigate latch-up.

Good luck! This is a good circuit to get started on!

5. Sep 14, 2013 #4