1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I couldn't find books in English for learning mathematics and physics

1. May 9, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I'm a student of a correspondance university in Japan. I want to learn physics and mathematics in English,but I can't find which books are suitable to study from very basic mathematics and Physics.
    "Very basic", I mentioned, means on a level like pupils at school in the U.K. or the U.S. etc.
    I study a little mathematics and physics in Japanese, but it`s no so high level and it`s difficult for me to understand because of difficult `kanji`. So, I think it`s a good way to study them in English. Please tell me how to find good textbooks or recommnded textbook for learning matematics and physics.

2. Relevant equations
    I`m very sorry, but I can`t understand what I should write on this space.

3. The attempt at a solution
    I searched books by Inter Net. I used amazon site or directly using search engine like google.But, I couldn`t find any books I want. Perhaps, I can't understand how other countries people learn these subjects. So, if I could I want to know steps to reach college level skills of mathematics and physics. Maybe this question is too obscure, but really want to study mathematics and physics in English and understand this world further. I'll be vary glad to answer me.

Last edited by a moderator: May 9, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. May 9, 2013 #2
    Do you think it's too advanced an introductory but complete "Physics for scientists and engineers " and for math, my advice is a book from James Stewart named "Precalculus " and later "calculus"

4. May 9, 2013 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award