1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Introductory acoustics

1. Oct 8, 2017 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Hi there,
    I am a beginner in acoustics and there are severals problems I am currently struggling while I was reading the first chapter of "Theory of Vortex Sound" (available on Google books).

New Bitmap Image (3).jpg

2. Relevant equations
    For Q4
    :
    B015988463_271-361.jpg

3. The attempt at a solution
    For Q2 and 3, as underlined in the first picture, if the velocity and pressure doesn't go like 1/r , the integral will diverge as r-> inf. However, there are no 1/r terms in U0cos(wt)

For Q4,

31afc7e1-17c7-495e-9f92-248600d71349.jpg

I am not sure how to proceed, since the variable y is contained in two terms within the dirac delta,I don't know how to eliminate it.

BTW, I googled sth that might be helpful for Q4.
    a.jpg

(From P.115-116 of https://books.google.co.uk/books?id...WAhVKDxoKHe_nDiQQ6AEIMjAC#v=onepage&q&f=false )

Thanks very much!!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 8, 2017 #2

haruspex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

For Q2, I feel the discussion about large r that follows eqn 1.8.4 is not relevant. You have no idea what p is.
    Note that in the eqn. the left side involves p and v. A substitution is then made to eliminate v in favour of p.
    In Q2 you are given information about v but not p. What alternative step does that suggest?

4. Oct 8, 2017 #3
    Since v = U0cos(wt) and using the substitution v = p/ρ0c0 , rearranging we can solve for p. Then I use eq 1.8.4 with the integrand
    pv = U0 ^2 cos^2 (ωt) ρ0 c0 .But then the integrand doesn't go like 1/r^2 ,when I integrate over the surface it gives a 4πr^2 term.